Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Today was to be Eva’s orientation to Kindergarten at the Building Blocks for Pa Cyber School. She woke up at 6am with a temp of 102 😦 being she hasn’t been sick in a while Sara didn’t have fever reducer for her. She called me and I went to the Martin’s Grocery Store, thanks goodness for 24 hour stores!

I got everything to make homemade Chicken Noodle Soup, thanks to the nurse, mom and grandma in me! I got her 2 fever reducers..Acetaminophen and Ibuprofen..like her mother one by itself does not work for her fevers. We have to give the Ibuprofen and 2 hours later the Acetaminophen! Got vitamin waters, coconut milk (no dairy and it’s good for you) and potatoes!

Yes that’s right I said potatoes! When anyone has a high fever slice a raw potato and put the slices on the souls of the feet! If you cut on an angle 1 slice usually covers a small child’s foot. For an adult you have to use a few slices. Hold in place with socks. This has never failed anytime I have done it..warning the potato slices will be from a gray to black after the fever has broken! Repeat as often as needed!

Back to Eva. She had her Ibuprofen at 7:10am along with placing the potatoes in her socks. At 9:30 her temp was down to 98! Works like a charm every time! If the person is very sick it can take a little longer and you may have to repeat every few hours!

While the stock, made from the roasted chicken carcass, onions, carrots and garlic was cooking I made Eva her ‘slurpy noodles’, you know the ones you slurp up! Left the noodles out on a rack to dry a little until the stock was made.

Drying Noodles

Drying Noodles

After the stock was done I strained it and returned it to the pot. Seasoned it with fresh cracked black pepper, sea salt, onion and garlic powders, all the garlic gloves I cooked in the stock I mashed them and returned to the stock! Once it came to a boil I slowly added the noodles small handfuls at a time! Returned to a boil and reduced the heat to boil gently for 20 minutes.

Simmering Noodles

Simmering Noodles

During this time I tore up the baked chicken.

Torn Up Chicken

Torn Up Chicken

After 20 minutes I added the chicken and cooked carrots. Simmered it slowly for 10 minutes uncovered. Then I covered it and removed form the heat another 10 minutes!

Simmering Chicken Noodle Soup

Simmering Chicken Noodle Soup

After the 10 minutes I served Eva up her ‘Homemade Chicken Slurpy Noodle Soup’ in her large Alice in Wonderland mug!

Homemade Chicken Slurpy Noodle Soup

Homemade Chicken Slurp Noodle Soup

After cooling Miss Eva began slurping her ‘Homemade Chicken Slurpy Noodle Soup’!

Starting The Slurp

Starting The Slurp


The Slurp Of The Noodle

The Slurp Of The Noodle


Happiness after The Slurp

Happiness after The Slurp

Nana’s now has one happy and satisfied little ‘Sweet Pea’!